American Otolaryngologists of Indian Heritage Inc.
American Otolaryngologists of Indian Heritage Inc.

Our Past and Present

AAOI, AAOIH and now AOIH Inc.




The American Association of Otolaryngologists from India (AAOI) was founded by Dr. Hemendra Narain Bhatnagar in Waterville, Maine in 1977. Dr. Hemendra Narain Bhatnagar served as Secretary and Treasurer from 1977 to 1994. AAOI was founded to bring together Otolaryngologists of Indian Heritage practicing in United States and Canada for Scientific, educational, social, cultural, charitable purposes and to promote understanding and cooperation between AAOI and other Otolaryngology societies in the USA and Abroad 


 Yash Pal Kapur, Chairman and Professor, Dept. of Otolaryngology at

Dr. Michigan State University served as the President of AAOI from 1977 to 1994. Dr. Kapur  organized different courses in India under the aegises of AAOI, in collaboration with Michigan State University, American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin, Association of Otolaryngologists of India, Medical Council of India, and AIIMS of New Delhi, India. He also played a substantial role in "Hearing International" organization





Dr. Hemendra Bhatnagar served as the President of AAOIH from 1994-1998. Dr. Dinesh Mehta served as Secretary and Treasureer of AAOIH from 1994-1999 and as President from 2000-2003.  In 1994 to broaden the scope of AAOI, the name and the Bylaws of the organization was amended to AAOIH "American Association of Otolaryngologists of Indian Heritage" 




Dr. Dinesh Mehta served as Treasurer of our organization from 2013 to 2017. Dr. Dinesh Mehta in 2015 under the Presidency of Satish Govindaraj registered our organization with Attorney General's Office of the State of New York as a new entity titled American Otolaryngologists of Indian Heritage Inc. (AOIH Inc.) and later registered our organization with IRS as 501 (c) 3 Not for Profit Tax exempt charity organization  

Office Bearers from 1977 - 2017


Yash Pal Kapur, MD

President: 1977-1994

Hemendra Bhatnagar, MD
President: 1995-1999
Secretary : 1977-1994
Treasurer: 1977-1994

Dinesh Mehta, MD
President: 2000-2003:
Secretary: 1995-1999
Treasurer: 1995-2004
Hiranya Gowda, MD
President-elect: 2000-2001
Sanjay Bhansali, MD
President: 2004-2005
Secretary: 2000-2003

Treasurer: 2018-2019
Vijay Anand, MD
President: 2006-2007
President-elect: 2004-2005
Nikhil Bhatt, MD
President: 2008-2009
President-elect: 2006-2007
Secretary: 2004-2005
Treasurer: 2004-2012
Vinod Anand, MD
President: 2010-2011
President-elect: 2008-2009
Secretary: 2006-2007
Arun Gadre, MD
President: 2012-2013
President-elect: 2010-2011
Secretary: 2008-2009
Pete Batra, MD
Secretary: 2012-2013
Satish Govindaraj, MD
President: 2014-2015
President-elect: 2012-2013
Secretary: 2010-2011
Ashutosh Kacker, MD

President AOIH Inc. 2016-2017
President Elect: 2015

Secretary: 2014
Internet Coordinator: 2012-2013
Ameet Singh, MD

President AOIH Inc. 2018-2019

Vice President: 2016-2017
Secretary: 2014-2015


Rajesh Kakani, MD

Secretary, AOIH: 2016-2017


Print Print | Sitemap
© American Association of Otolaryngologists of Indian Heritage